Undergraduate Student Experience Action Group


Work timeline

June-August 2018

Charge meeting with President Wintersteen to discuss direction, coordination, goals, and important next steps. : Martino Harmon)

Implementation team co-chairs meet to discuss the structure and composition of the committee, key process steps, and recommendation of members.

Undergraduate Student Experience Action Group (AG) members recruited and selected.

September-October 2018

September meeting - discussion of 2017 climate survey data and other recent datasets available; committee members tasked with reviewing data and sharing possible action items prior to October meeting; subcommittee created to plan focus groups of populations identified in the survey.

Co-chairs participate in to provide on committee work

October meeting - Focus group plan shared with AG

October-November 2018

Focus groups conducted in partnership with:

  • Center for LGBTQIA+ Student Success
  • International Students and Scholars Office
  • Margaret Sloss Women’s Center
  • Multicultural Student Affairs
  • Student Accessibility Services
  • Veterans Center

November meeting - discussion of focus group sessions; preparation of a preliminary list of action steps; initial planning for a Town Hall meeting to take place early in

January-February 2019

Focus groups concluded. Preparations made for Open Forum, February 12, 2019 5-7 PM Carver Hall 0205.



February-March 2019

Committee debrief of forum - discussion of themes and feedback

Development of final report to be submitted to President Wintersteen and the chairs of the other Campus Climate Workgroups in late March.


Group members


Martino Harmon (chair)

Senior Vice President for Student Affairs
Ann Marie VanDerZanden (co-chair)Associate Provost for Academic Programs
Vernon Hurte (co-chair)Associate Vice President & Dean of Students
Jan BoylesAssistant Professor, Greenlee School of Journalism
Megan JohnsonCoordinator, Student Accessibility Services
Lilian JumaDirector of Diversity & Inclusion, Student Government
Elizabeth Martinez-PodolskyMulticultural Liaison Officer, Agriculture and Life Sciences
Beth McNeilDean, Parks Library
Matt PistilliDirector, Student Affairs Assessment & Research
SenguptaPresident, International Student Council
Kenyatta ShamburgerAssistant Dean/Director, Multicultural Student Affairs
Howard Tyler Assistant Dean, Student Services, Agriculture and Life Sciences