Action Team for Graduate Students and Postdocs

Our goal is to promote a welcoming, supportive, safe, and inclusive environment for every graduate student and postdoctoral scholar at Iowa State.


Work timeline

Fall 2018

Action team meetings throughout semester

Focus group session with postdoctoral scholars

Spring 2019

Focus group sessions with graduate scholars (4 sessions exploring a different issue in each)

Development and implementation of actionable items from focus groups

Authoring of final report submitted to President Wintersteen and the chairs of the other Campus Climate Workgroups by the end of March

Beyond Spring 2019Assessment of impact


Group members

Bill Graves (chair)Dean of the Graduate College
Norin ChaudhryPresident of the Graduate and Professional Student Senate
Kristi Darr (consultant)Interim Vice President for University Human Resources
Carolyn Lawrence-DillDirector of Graduate Education for Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Guru RaoAssociate Vice President for Research
Tasaporn SattasathuchanaPresident of the Postdoctoral Association
Beate SchmittmannDean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences